stars, pine trees, and home

 

English: Big Dipper and the rest of the clear ...

Image via Wikipedia

The sky never gets quite black in the city. It glows purplish-orange from the city lights, and at first I thought it was beautiful. Now it makes me think of smog and strangers, and I realize that I can’t see the stars any more. Where I come from, the sky goes black and you see Orion and the Big Dipper and even a few planets if you know where to look for them… and the moon comes up over pine trees instead of the junky buildings downtown. I tell my roommates I’m going to find an aviation major and catch a ride home and they laugh with me… we all know it’s impossible, but dreaming is important when you can’t see the stars and you’ve forgotten what home smells like.

One thought on “stars, pine trees, and home

  1. “dreaming is important when you can’t see the stars and you’ve forgotten what home smells like.”
    This touched my soul. I swear. Dreaming is so important to me and I feel like that one line explained my feelings towards it…if only a little. Beautiful post…I am overwhelmed.

Leave a Reply

