so love at 1st sight happens after all…

and I walked in the door with old friends,

but there stood a new one & he was polite

and we shook hands all around,

but when I got to him I waited for his hand first

because I didn’t want to be bold…

then he pretended to be hurt, and I said sorry

and in the laughing awkwardness I felt his grasp.

none of this cold fish business, but strong

and warm and willing. and dear Father,

he has the cutest grin. please, make him like me

and when I think of him, is it okay to want him

if I just pray instead of wishing? because

last night I fell asleep with his eyes in my heart

praying for him, and only him…

and I think I have never prayed so fervently

One thought on “so love at 1st sight happens after all…

Leave a Reply

