i have decided to journal in poetry

I found one of my many poem/prayers in an old notebook today… it tells me more about myself than all my daily journal entries ever will. This openness before God was a good place to be… I need to go back there again.

Father, today I pray without pretending.

the wrapped up niceties are gone,

and only rawness remains.

you know the deep end of me, anyway.

this moment, I pray not theology

but simply crave to recall my reason,

the purpose I have for remaining alive.

all I want, all I ask is to believe

that the invisible is worth more.

to see the invisible, I need to know

the solemn meaning of counting my all as loss.

to gain your fullness, I must be empty.

3 thoughts on “i have decided to journal in poetry

  1. I’m not religious by practice, but I do believe in God. When I read things like this, it really makes me wish I was a little more dedicated and faithful. Your words were really well thought out.
    I hope you’ll share more poetry because this was wonderful.
    Following for more.

Leave a Reply

