my thanksgiving away from home

Today I worked for a Thanksgiving meal & watched all the families making memories around the tables. The little people with big solemn eyes made me realize just what a big grown up I am…working at my own life and future, instead of wrapped up in my family. And since I’m a college kid far from home, I accepted one of several invitations for a real Thanksgiving dinner in an actual home. The table was so big it had to go in sideways, and shoulder to shoulder we all passed the dishes. I wondered at the sixteen conversations all going on at once, and thought of home where only one reigned around the small table. Then later during the movie, the lights went off and my heart woke up. I can only push down the loneliness for so long… sometimes, I would give anything to have a strong shoulder.

 

Leave a Reply

