on simplicity and I John

Today I had a revolutionary thought. Maybe it’s not actually life that is so busy, but me that is hurrying. I think I’m in the habit of going fast just because I am used to it. And what I need to do is simplify… slow down… be still… and take time to do stuff that isn’t life threatening. Little stuff, like adding marshmallows to my cocoa and smiling at people and putting on lipstick. I’ve been landing on 1 John out of pure necessity lately, mostly after eleven after I finally shut my laptop and crash with my Bible. John saw things so black and white… not like me, who sees things in a million shades of gray. Some things aren’t complicated. Things like this: “Hereby perceive we the love of God, because he laid down his life for us: and we ought to lay down our lives for the brethren.”

Leave a Reply

