waking art

This week I really felt like an art major for the first time. I had to go to the drawing studio to do a sketch- of a cardboard box. I sat at the easel for almost an hour, squinting and measuring and valuing that thing… people came in and out, probably art majors because they knew enough to be quiet. I came out of the art building with my sketchbook under my arm & stared at the purple sky, wondering at the world of living art.

God gave me such a gift when he showed me Deuteronomy 11:11. It settled my heart, and now I know that I don’t have to go looking for a man. He will come, God will send him as he sends the rain. My heart has gotten stronger – I have been able to keep it on God’s promise and not the men around me. I still sometimes feel my heart stirring as from sleep, still sleepy dreaming and wondering, when will he come? crying, I have waited so long for him…

Leave a Reply

