rest

Today I felt like a wilted flower. I was sick in the hospital all day, sleeping and not even being hungry. That was a new sensation, let me tell you. I just lay in bed wondering at the strange feeling of eating something without wanting it. I only did because I hadn’t eaten anything all day and it was suppertime. So I ate my beef and cheese and bread, listening to the far away music they were playing- I recognized Mozart and Strauss- and staring out the window at mosaic of evening sky through the stone lattice. Instead of my scheduled chaos, I got to drift in dreamland… no homework, just lazy thoughts and a stunning evening sky to look at. My God gifted me with rest.

Leave a Reply

